

THE TECHNICAL UNIVERSITY OF KENYA

Haile Selassie Avenue, P. O. Box 52428, Nairobi, 00200, Tel: +254(020)3343672, 2219929, 0732388765 www.tukenya.ac.ke, dean.students@tukenya.ac.ke

Office of the Dean of Students

MEMO

FROM: Chairman, SATUK 2024/2025 Electoral Board

TO: All SATUK 2024/2025 Aspirants for Delegate

REF: TUK/DVC-ASA/DoS/SATUK 2024/2025 ELECTIONS/VOL 1

DATE: 8th March, 2024

SUBJECT: CLEARANCE FOR DELEGATE POSITION

Further to our earlier communication regarding clearance of aspirants, I wish to make clear the process of nomination for delegate position. Please take note of the following:

- i. The delegate position is open to ALL bona fide members of SATUK and of the respective Department;
- ii. All aspirants for nomination for the delegate position **SHALL** apply through the Students portal;
- iii. Upon completion, they shall print the duly filled nomination form and submit it to the respective Head of Department/Academic Team Leader or the appointed nominee by mid-day on 12th March, 2024;
- iv. The Academic Team Leader/ Head of Department or the appointed nominee shall sign to acknowledge receipt of the form and keep a record of all submitted nomination forms;
- w. Where there are more than six (6) aspirants, the Academic Team Leader/ Head of Department/ the appointed nominee shall organize an election using applicable democratic methods (secret ballot, acclamation, and consensus etc.) to nominate a maximum of six (6) aspirants.

- vi. The six (6) aspirants should comprise of 3 males and 3 females. Where only one gender has met the one-third criteria then there shall be no need for an election;
- vii. The Academic Team Leader/Head of Department shall forward the results of the election from the Department together with all the received forms to the SATUK 2024/2025 Electoral Board secretariat in Block D Room 2 by 3:00pm on Wednesday 13th March, 2024 using the format below:

Sr/No	Name	Gender	Reg. No	Course	Comments
1.	Another One	F	112/000	BSc	Nominated
				(Mathematics)	

Please note that aspirants for the delegate position are **NOT ALLOWED** to submit their nomination forms to the Electoral Board secretariat.

Kindly, take note of the deadlines and participate in exercising your democratic rights.

UlCer:

Dr. Sylvester Hayker Returning Officer/Chairman Electoral Board. SATUK 2024/2025 Electoral Board.

Copy to: Vice Chancellor Executive Deans – FAST, FEBE, FSST Dean of Students Chairmen of Departments