

THE TECHNICAL UNIVERSITY OF KENYA

Haile Selassie Avenue, P. O. Box 52428, Nairobi, 00200, Tel: +254 (020) 3343672, 2219929, 0732388765, E-mail: vc@tukenya.ac.ke, Website: www.tukenya.ac.ke

NOTICE

TO:

All Members of Staff and the Student Fraternity

DATE:

16th January, 2025

SUBJECT:

RESTRUCTURING OF THE DIVISION OF ACADEMIC AND STUDENT AFFAIRS

Pursuant to the University commitment to excellence as outlined in the University Strategic Plan 2023-2027 and following consultations with Council, Senate and Management, the **Division of Academic and Student Affairs** has been restructured to enhance operational efficiency and delivery of quality academic programmes. Consequently, the new structure will take effect on **Monday 3rd February**, 2025.

Kindly note that the **key changes** to the Division of Academic and Student Affairs include:

- 1. Establishment of three (3) levels of academic administration:
 - i. **Division of Academic and Student Affairs** headed by a Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Academic and Student Affairs;
 - ii. Faculties headed by Deans; and
 - iii. Departments headed by Chairpersons.
- 2. **Discontinuation** of Schools and Academic Departments. Thus, for avoidance of doubt, the positions of Directors of Schools (DoSs) and Academic Team Leaders (ATLs) will be abolished on the effective date of 3rd February, 2025.

A detailed list of the Departments under the Faculties is attached herewith and will be uploaded to the University website: www.tukenya.ac.ke.

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Benedict M. Mutua, PhD, Rer. Nat., EBS

VICE-CHANCELLOR



THE TECHNICAL UNIVERSITY OF KENYA

1. FACULTY OF SOCIAL L SCIENCES AND TECHNOLOY (FSST)

- i. Department of Business and Management Studies (DBMS)
- ii. Department of Creative Arts and Media (DCAM)
- iii. Department of Hospitality and Human Ecology (DHHE)
- iv. Department of Information Science, Language and Communication Studies (DILCS)
- v. Department of Liberal Development and International Studies (DLDIS)

FACULTY OF APPLIED SCIENCES AND TECHNOLOGY (FAST)

- i. Department of Biological and Life Sciences (DBLS)
- ii. Department of Computing and Information Technologies (DCIT)
- iii. Department of Chemistry and Materials Science (DCMS)
- iv. Department of Health and Biomedical Sciences (DHBS)
- v. Department of Mathematics and Statistics (DMAS)
- vi. Department of Physics, Earth and Environmental Sciences (DPEES)

3. FACULTY OF ENGINEERING AND THE BUILT ENVIRONMENT (FEBE)

- i. Department of Architecture, Design and Planning (DADP)
- ii. Department of Chemical and Biosystems Engineering (DCBE)
- iii. Department of Civil and Resource Engineering (DCRE)
- iv. Department of Construction and Property Studies (DCPS)
- v. Department of Electrical and Electronics Engineering (DEEE)
- vi. Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering (DMAE)
- vii. Department of Surveying and Spatial Sciences (DSSS)

Bone 16/01/2025